No Losers in Love

“Parting is such sweet sorrow that I shall say goodnight till it be morrow.”

Everyone has to say goodbye at some point. Some partings are temporary while others are everlasting. Either way, it leaves a gap in the heart.

The people we interact with often become a part of ourselves. They will raise us, support us and occupy most of our thoughts. Losing one of them is like losing a part of ourselves. How can we continue to function when the most vital relationships we form become lost to us?

Love Hurts

I’ve never lost anyone whom I have spent large amounts of time with. Still, it hurts knowing the people I value most are not coming back.

I didn’t cry when my grandparents passed away. I did not shed one tear when a boy I knew in school committed suicide. And I didn’t weep as I watched my cat Flash slowly die before my eyes. The only time I cried for a friend who had died was for Michelle. She passed away in a car accident. I care for all people I know, but Michelle’s passing hit close to home. I had hoped to spend more time with her at college. I wanted to be a better friend to her. I hope she knows that I care for her. She loved God greatly and I know she is in a better place. However, I won’t stop wishing she was here.

We miss people because they are missing from our lives. We carve out a special place in our hearts for those we adore. We continue to love those who leave us, but love is meant to be expressed in person. Long-distance love should never be Plan A.

The more we care for something, the harder it is to be without it. Often our happiness is directly tied to the good things we have in our lives. I could choose to simply not care when I lose the things that make me happy. However, I will never stop caring about the people I love. They are worth the hurt.

Moving On

I am going to lose more people in the future. No one gets to keep everyone they’ve met. I have decided to be strong every time I lose someone. Those who care about me want me to continue moving forward with my life. Still, I will always take a moment to look back at the people who have brought me to where I am today.

I want to let in as many people as I can. Good people who are loving and kind enrich our lives when we break down our defenses and let them do what they do best. I will miss them terribly when they go, but I will never regret letting them in.

Leave a Reply

