Minced Oaths

Do potty mouths get sent to Heck or Hell?

Those who swear become cursed. Hurtful words creep into our language and maintain a lasting hold on us. I’m not referring to vulgarisms or profanity. I’m talking about the words we use to tear people down.

It starts with those automatic phrases we use to express our general displeasure:

“You got to be kidding me.”

“That’s stupid.”

“Who cares?”

After a while, we become comfortable with accusing others and letting them know it:

“How could you?”

“How many times do I have to tell you?”

“It’s your fault.”

Finally, we form our words into phrases meant to make people feel terrible:

“That’s not my problem.”

“Mind your own business.”

“Get lost.”

Do your words hurt others more than they heal? How automatic are your responses in conversation? I try to think carefully about what I want to say to others long before I meet them. Getting to know people is a privilege and I don’t want to ruin it by carelessly throwing hurtful words around.

I might be the one diagnosed with a behavioral disorder, but I don’t condone bad behavior. There is no reason why we need to take out our frustrations on others. I choose to make my words count. Each word I speak is selected to uplift the people around me.

I do not hope to change the language people use. I only seek to live in a world where people truly understand one another. We won’t achieve that if we don’t take responsibility for what we’re saying.

Leave a Reply

