Fresh Out of Focus

I was trying to write a blog post about focusing our attention, but I got distracted.

I was originally diagnosed with Attention Deficit Disorder as a child before receiving the diagnosis of Asperger syndrome in my adulthood. Each generation has its own term for “different” and I happened to be born in the 1980s. The doctors must have learned about my daydreaming and decided that means I can’t pay attention. Still, I can honestly say being able to focus doesn’t come as easily for me as I think it should.

When you drive at 60 mph you can’t take time to observe every detail along the way. Something has to take priority. Ninety-nine percent of what you focus on is mostly the direction you are driving toward while the rest includes occasional glances at your mirrors, speedometer, and fuel gauge. If you focused more on what your odometer looks like during your drive, you’d probably end up in a crash.

I feel focus is not so much about prioritizing our attention so much as it is selecting what we wish to ignore. Any random thing can grab our attention in an instant without any formalities. A focused mind simply knows how to cut away the useless stuff.

My personality wants to find value in all things. It’s hard to focus on one thing when all things interest me. It’s hard to focus on one friend when all of them are on my mind at once. A person I am with could be speaking and my mind focuses on what they are saying while at the same time what they are not saying. My mind knows no rest.

I could go on, but I’m having trouble focusing today. I hope none of you are having as much trouble as I am.

Leave a Reply

