Mad Hatters

Clothes don’t make the man. His hat does.

Work seems to be the word of the day around here lately. I’ve been trying hard to put my college degree to good use with only small success. A few people gave me some good advice recently on how to build my resume. I’m sure opportunities will come along in time.

People often ask me, “What do you do?” I do lots of things. People should be more specific. What they are really asking about is what work I engage in during the day. I’m not sure why this is the first thing people ask when getting to know me. Is my job a defining characteristic of my identity?

I’ve worn many hats in my time. Which of my talents should be the one to define who I am as a person? I used to deliver newspapers to people early in the morning. Joseph the early morning paper boy! And I have worked many years in various warehouses. Joseph the wary warehouse worker! And I guess I could choose to be recognized for my recent writing efforts. Joseph the literary legend!

A person is more than their abilities. How I make money does not say anything about who I am as an individual. I wish people would show more interest in the person than in the minor details. Why should people be interested in how I get my food and clothes? I am way more interesting than that.

When you first meet someone you are meeting them at one point in time. I will not always have the job I am currently at. Considering the worth of a soul at only one point in their life is cutting them short.

When I meet people I start by asking them, “What do you like?” It’s another way of asking what resonates with them. A person’s interests say more about them than what their current job is. Anyone can work at something. It takes effort to care about something.

My friends are people who share many interests with me. We all work at different jobs, but we are connected by what resonates with all of us. My love for storytelling has gained me many good friends. My hope is that people will begin to know each other by what is in their hearts and not by the hat they wear.

Leave a Reply

