Care

Some people I meet who struggle with behavioral disorders have a tendency to ramble on in conversation. I lend them an ear and they give me an earful. It’s almost as if they have this prepared monologue ready to unload the moment someone gives them attention. Sometimes I wonder if they’re actually talking to me or just thinking out loud.

After someone goes on like this I try to contribute something to the conversation to remind them I’m still there. Most of the time they won’t respond to what I’m saying and just continue on with what’s on their mind. I don’t stick around for that.

Many people I talk to do this same thing. They want to talk to someone, but they don’t necessarily want to be part of a conversation. This can be easy to miss if you’re not looking for it. Take a moment to notice if people wait for your response in a conversation. Do they ask you questions? Are they interested in hearing your opinions? If not, it’s possible they haven’t learned empathy.

I find that anyone who struggles with their behavior is benefited by caring about the people around them. The sign of a mature adult is one who can meet the needs of others while also taking care of their own needs. If you can’t do that, then you’re just a child who needs to be taken care of.

People with behavioral disorders need to learn how their behavior impacts those around them. Their own lives will improve if they seek to improve the lives of others. I can’t think of any better way to spend your time than in the service of your fellow men. Live for others and you will learn to live.

Leave a Reply

